No you can't put funny characters in your anchor text!

Here you may ask questions or find answers about the actual workings of the site. If you ask your questions here it may help others that may not have even thought of the question. So by getting help yourself you maybe helping others, there are no stupid questions.
Image

No you can't put funny characters in your anchor text!

Postby Isha » Thu Mar 10, 2011 3:02 pm

Was scratchin my head enough to frighten the bugs earlier. Tried to post a link on the Co-op with anchor text again & again & again & still it wouldn work.

Than after a while... after a long while... I saw the ' character that I'd put in the anchor text (I being a pretty cool grammar nut) & I tried deletin it. And it worked.

The moral is:
Don't put this character into your anchor text: '

:twisted:
User avatar
Isha
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 12:01 am
Location: London England, UK

No you can't put funny characters in your anchor text!

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

Re: No you can't put funny characters in your anchor text!

Postby Brad West » Sat Mar 12, 2011 12:30 pm

What kind of weird things are you doing :?: :roll: :D
Optimize what works, drop what doesn't
User avatar
Brad West
Site Admin
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 12:47 am
Location: Las Vegas NV.

Re: No you can't put funny characters in your anchor text!

Postby Isha » Sat Mar 12, 2011 5:07 pm

I had something like:

[link2]Financial Times's Save Well Street Market Story,http://www.wellstreetmarket.co.uk/wellstreetmarket/ft-publishes-save-well-street-market-story/[/link2]

:P
User avatar
Isha
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 12:01 am
Location: London England, UK

Re: No you can't put funny characters in your anchor text!

Postby Brad West » Sun Mar 13, 2011 5:38 pm

Now I see what you are talking about.
for some reason it is not taking an apostrophe. Google doesn't like them ether and not good for titles. You will see most of the time even asking a question in a title we won't use any punctuation. Google has shown us the ways of wrongness so we can make it happy.


Code: Select all
[link2]Financial Times Save Well Street Market Story,http://www.wellstreetmarket.co.uk/wellstreetmarket/ft-publishes-save-well-street-market-story/[/link2]



the other link button is a no follow button
Or just plain anchor text works.
I did take allot of the toys off of this editor!

Good to know about these things Thanks!
Optimize what works, drop what doesn't
User avatar
Brad West
Site Admin
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 12:47 am
Location: Las Vegas NV.

Re: No you can't put funny characters in your anchor text!

Postby Isha » Sun Mar 13, 2011 6:57 pm

Yes, a short time ago I realised I should have typed the word "apostrophe" in this thread instead of just this: '
duh!

Thank you for the extra link to the blog post. :D
User avatar
Isha
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 12:01 am
Location: London England, UK

Re: No you can't put funny characters in your anchor text!

Postby Brad West » Mon Apr 18, 2011 7:03 pm

Posting on the internet is very different at times.
We try to avoid punctuation especially in titles, using the and sign is also ant friendly. For some reason the bots don't really like these things. So as far as correctness you will defiantly find it with me.
Optimize what works, drop what doesn't
User avatar
Brad West
Site Admin
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 12:47 am
Location: Las Vegas NV.

Re: No you can't put funny characters in your anchor text!

Postby Brian Hawkins » Sat Apr 30, 2011 8:30 pm

I've noticed it with I'm Sick Of too. Something I failed to consider when selecting a domain. I also failed to secure the domain without the apostrophe but that's another story.
Blogging tips to help you build, promote and make money from your blog.
HotBlogTips.com
Weekly Blogging Tips by expert bloggers in the Hot Blog Tips Newsletter.
User avatar
Brian Hawkins
Site Admin
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 3:49 pm
Location: Belleville, MI 48111

Re: No you can't put funny characters in your anchor text!

Postby Leon » Sat Jul 02, 2011 10:53 pm

Brad West wrote:Now I see what you are talking about.
for some reason it is not taking an apostrophe. Google doesn't like them ether and not good for titles. You will see most of the time even asking a question in a title we won't use any punctuation. Google has shown us the ways of wrongness so we can make it happy.


Code: Select all
[link2]Financial Times Save Well Street Market Story,http://www.wellstreetmarket.co.uk/wellstreetmarket/ft-publishes-save-well-street-market-story/[/link2]



the other link button is a no follow button
Or just plain anchor text works.
I did take allot of the toys off of this editor!

Good to know about these things Thanks!


Hi Brad,

What button are you saying is a no-follow button?

I see one with a cross hatch (#) and the normal one with the world
with the chain link below it and the one with the donkey image...

I'm squinting again.

However, all of the search engines look for words and not punctuation.
It is sad that they have abandoned and destroyed the English language
for a little bit of speed.

Thanks and Peace,
Leon
User avatar
Leon
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:46 pm
Location: Lebanon, TN, USA

Re: No you can't put funny characters in your anchor text!

Postby Brad West » Sat Jul 02, 2011 11:08 pm

The buttons on the bottom of the editor "scroll", "Think_F", "Think_M" In that line there is

Link this is a nofollow
Link2 is a button

We only use the nofollow if the site being linked to is not trusted.
As a matter a fact we will be taking a bunch of nofollow off the board because Google now likes out links to good sites'

If you scroll over the buttons there is a prompt that comes up on the left hand side under the control header.

Just squint a little harder.
Optimize what works, drop what doesn't
User avatar
Brad West
Site Admin
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 12:47 am
Location: Las Vegas NV.

Re: No you can't put funny characters in your anchor text!

Postby Leon » Sat Jul 02, 2011 11:38 pm

Okay, Brad, I finally squinted enough to see what you are talking about.

I did notice there was a strange way of formatting the links in here with
a comma instead of the [url=] type of formatting. But I see also that you
can still use that for hyper-text links.

So the link2 places a button. I'm guessing that the bots read the url in
the buttons rather than skipping over them since you said that the link2
is a do-follow link.

Going to bed now... it's after 1 a.m. now. Maybe that is why my squinting
is so weak!

Peace,
Leon
User avatar
Leon
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:46 pm
Location: Lebanon, TN, USA

Next

Return to Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron